AiR i S12 – A Retrospective

Welcome to a presentation and an exhibition in S12 Studio and Gallery.
Opening  Friday July 6th 2018 at 07:oo pm

This retrospective is to mark the moving of S12 later this year to a new location in Bontelabo. It gives us the opportunity to look back and showcase some of the interesting works and experiments made in our workshop during the period we have been in Skostredet.

S12 will this summer parallel with the exhibition, introduce all 49 artists who have taken part in the AiR i S12 program, giving you the opportunity to get to know them all through our newsletter, our webpage, Facebook, Instagram and Twitter.

The AiR in S12 program was launched in 2010 and has since hosted 49 international artists who work both within and outside the glass field. Its goal is to support international artists who use experimental, conceptual, and innovative approach when working with glass. One to two artists can be hosted at a time, and they are provided with housing, unlimited access to the workshop, assistance, and in many cases the possibility to display their works or arrange an exhibition at the end of their stay.  S12’s unique situation, as a combination of an open access workshop that maintains and runs an adjacent gallery and a project room, allows artists, during the development of their work to think about how to best present the work when finished. Located on a street level in the center of town, it has also been possible for the public to meet the artists and to follow the process from experimenting with the material to making and then presenting a completed work.

We welcome you on this journey with us and hope you will enjoy meeting the 49 artists, seeing their works both in the making and when ready in an exhibition. You are welcome to visit our Gallery showing 64 works made by 27 of the 49 artist who have taken part in our Artist in Residence program, during the period of 2010 – 2018. Included in the exhibition are the following artists:
Alexandra Muresan, Alison Lowry, Amanda Patenaude, Angela Davies, Anne Petters, Aric Snee, Ben Wright, Brad Turner, CUD – John Drury and Robbie Miller, Damien Francois, DH McNabb, Doreen Garner, Einar and Jaimex de la Torre, Ito Laïla Le François, John Moran, Julia Chamberlain, Justin Ginsberg, Kate Clements, Margarida Alves, Maria Bang Espersen, Maria Koshenkova, Mike Simi, Saman Kalantari, Stine Bidstrup and Verena Schatz.

AiR i S12 has been supported by the City of Bergen from its beginning, and the running of the workshop has been made possible by the Norwegian Arts Council.
Other instances who have supported the program during shorter periods are:
Kulturkontakt Nord/Nordic Culture Point – 1 yr. (2015/16)
Norske kunsthåndverkere 2 yrs  (2013/14)

Hilde Angel Danielsen






Einar and Jamex de la Torre






Damien François






Aric Snee






Mary Catherine Richardson






Amanda Patenaude and Ben Wright